When I graduated from Seminary, I knew a few things.

I knew that in the “real” church the ministers wore robes. 
 
I knew that the Pastor was in charge and once in a while got people to help him. 
 
I knew that more and more often the minister was a her. While I was ok with that, the people of the “true” church didn’t like it very much, even though the hers
were as good as, or better than, the hims at any pastoring job.

I further knew that while most  church people meant well they didn’t know as much as the clergy, so quite often we had to be loving, but firm. 

I knew “good “music for worship should be at least 100 years old and God intended to have it sung to an organ. In smaller churches a piano might be ok.  

I knew that main-line denominations had some problems with membership issues but that they would come around. 

I knew that doing evangelism, as some other flavors of Christians suggested, was not necessary if it was NOT your cup of tea. 
 
I knew that having a heart for Jesus was good, but mostly you had to know God in your head.

Now I know different things. 

I know that lay people of passion and purpose are the most effective ministers in the world. 

I know that worship should be a big celebration and that small groups are the best ways for fellowship and pastoral care. 

I know that evangelism that meets needs coupled with service of God and others is the most effective way in the world to share Jesus’ love. 
 
I know a recent survey of Christian churches found that 89% believed meeting their own needs and taking care of their own members was the number one purpose of the church.As one of the other 11%, I that knows that is not true. 
 
I know that the church universal and the church local are constantly only one generation away from total extinction. 

I know that the best way for each of us to meet our own needs is by caring about others and helping them meet theirs.

I know that Jesus loves me and, through me, wants to love many, many others. 
 
I know that the culture and its world view are changing faster than the price of gas.

I know that I don’t know nearly enough to lead a transformational, post-modern, emergent, missional, kingdom-endeavor for God.

I am also aware, though, that God does know enough, and hasn’t lost a wink of rest in any of my 56 years worrying about what I can not do. 
 
On the other hand, there is an ever increasing list of things I don’t know.

I don’t know why churches that do things which produce negative results, keep doing those same things over and over.

I don’t know why people fight worship or music wars.

I don’t know if the denominational church will survive.

I don’t know if it deserves to. I do know the Body of Christ will survive. It will probably take new eyes to recognize it.

I don’t know what God has in store for us in the next few years.

I do know it will be a wild adventure.

And I know I want to be a part of the parade.


 

Comments are closed.