The Lord is my Shepherd,  I shall not want; 
He makes me lie down in green pastures . . .
Psalm 23: 1-2a

In both popular culture and colloquial sayings we know where the grass is greener – on the other side of the fence.  In many years of ministry I have heard countless spouses relate such a belief to me.  No more green pastures – only dry desert or barren wasteland.  Teens have admitted that they feel like their lives are already used up.  Somewhere, but not here, they are saying, the grass is greener.  I disagree.  I disagree not because I don’t believe in the dry times.  Like everyone else, I have experienced my share. Even when my backyard is under 2 feet of snow there is a green pasture just waiting to be experienced.  Right under my feet. Even when I can’t feel it.  Whether I believe in it or not, it is there!

Often in relationship counseling I ask the couples,” Don’t you think it would be easier to make a new beginning with the same person?”  Some take the advice.  Others squirm for a moment and then describe a vague situation which involves a new beginning by finding green pastures across the fence, across the street, across the country - in another person’s arms.   
 
I say the greener pastures, like everything else in life, lie right at our feet, as constant as our heartbeat, as near as a song, as close as a prayer.  We can learn much from others, travel is good and checking out other ideas is essential to our own development.  But greener pastures are right where we live and love and lament.  Often hope is not found with new pastures, new partners or new communities of faith.  Faith asks us to nurture new shoots of green from what appears to be old, maybe even dead. Remember the new shoot that came forth from the old (to most eyes finished) stump of Jesse?  His name is Jesus.


 

Comments are closed.